Customizing the order entry preferences

  1. In the main toolbar, click Order entry to open the Order entry window.



  2. Click Customize window and select Order entry preferences

  3. The Order entry preferences window opens. 

Setting Description

Default account

Select the default account that will appear automatically each time you place an order.

Default values  
Stk qty and
Options qty


Enter the default value or select a value using the up or down arrows Up or down arrows next to
the Stocks qty and Options qty.

Increment of You can also set the increment level for stocks and options by using the up or down arrow keys Up or down arrows next to the Increment by field. For example, if you set the increment level to 100, each time you click the up arrow, the number will increase by 100.
 
Parameters   

Order type

Select the default order type to use each time you open a new order entry window.

Duration Select the default order duration. Whenever you open a new order entry window, it will be populated with these values by default.
Displaying default values   
Revert to default values when you enter a new symbol  When selected, after entering a new symbol or opening a new order entry window, the default order entry values you set in the user preferences will be populated.
Retain custom values when you enter a new symbol Select this checkbox to retain the most recent values you entered each time you enter a new symbol in the same order entry window. Only after opening a new order entry window will the default values you set in the user preferences be populated. 
Synthetic order triggering
Number of prints
 
Set the number of times the tick price should match or better the order trigger price for orders.

Note: this selection applies to stop, stop limit, trailing stop, and trailing stop limit orders only.

Order entry labels
Show order entry labels Choose whether to show or hide the order entry labels. You may wish to hide the labels to maximize your screen real estate.
Confirmations and warnings   
Show order confirmations  To disable the order confirmation that appears after submitting an order, clear the Show order confirmations checkbox. 
Show cancel warning for a single order To disable the order cancellation warning message that appears when you place a single order, clear the Show cancel warning for a single order checkbox.

Note: you can also disable order confirmations and cancellation warnings for single orders by selecting the Do not show this again checkbox within the confirmation 
Level 2 mouse  
Single click/double-click within level 2 fills order entry with:  Choose to populate the level 2 window's order entry fields with price and quantity values using a single or double click. 
Restore installation defaults Click Restore installation defaults to restore all settings back to their factory default settings.
Reset all warning dialogs Click Reset warning dialogs to enable all warning messages that you may have disabled by selecting the Do not show this again checkbox in warning messages that have appeared.

All content in the Exchange, whether provided by Questrade or created by the community members, is for informational purposes only and does not contain advice or recommendations on behalf of Questrade Inc. Use of this site is subject to the terms of service and user posting rules.